Australian Administrators’ Guild to honour Samantha Lang


Acclaimed director and former ADG President, Samantha Lang, shall be honoured with the Cecil Holmes Award on the Australian Administrators’ Guild awards on December 8.

The Cecil Holmes Award is the Australian Administrators Guild’s highest honour, recognising distinctive people who’ve advocated for Australian administrators’ superior craft and careers.

Lang’s credit embody The Monkey’s Masks, The Nicely, Packed to the Rafters, All Saints, My Place, Twisted Tales.

ADG President Rowan Woods stated: “The size and breadth of Sam Lang’s achievements are monumental and distinctive. Her excellent and internationally recognised characteristic movies, her distinctive management as a two-term ADG President and her vital and transformational work, championing range and inclusion make Sam Lang the ADG Board’s unanimous choose for this yr’s award. Sam’s creativity and humanity encourage all Australian administrators and there’s no worthier recipient than Sam for this yr’s Cecil Holmes Award. I stay up for publicly acknowledging Sam for her contributions in entrance her directing friends and the broader business on the ADG Awards ceremony on December 8.”

Samantha Lang is a filmmaker and visible artist who has labored in Australia, France and the US. Her characteristic movies The Nicely, The Monkey’s Masks and L’Idole screened at main worldwide festivals corresponding to Sundance, Toronto, Locarno, and have acquired worldwide recognition on the highest degree, The Nicely competing on the Cannes Movie Competition for the Palme D’Or. In 2019 – her characteristic documentary It All Began with a Stale Sandwich screened on the Sydney Movie Competition. Most lately she has made two VR movies Prehistoric VR and Anthropocene VR in collaboration with Erth Visible and Bodily and supported by Create NSW.

The Cecil Holmes Award, established in 1995, is called in honour of Cecil Holmes, whose work was largely unheralded, and who was later instrumental in mentoring various administrators throughout the 70s movie renaissance. The Award is now typically given in alternate years or with the identification of a deserving recipient.

The ADG has additionally confirmed the hosts and various presenters at this yr’s ADG Awards – to be held on December 8 on the Actors Centre, Leichhardt, Sydney. Hosts are comedians and satirists, Jenna Owen and Vic Zerbst, who carry out collectively as Freudian Nip.

Presenters at this yr’s Awards embody the administrators Leah Purcell, Fadia Abboud, Christiaan Van Vuuren, Adele Vuko and Pearl Tan, with extra to be confirmed over the approaching days.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *